13 Reasons

There’s a thing going round at the moment – the #13ReasonsWhyImHappy Challenge. So after such an emotional post the other day, I’m going to take part. So without further ado – and in no particular order – I present to you the 13 reasons why I’m happy!

1) I’m getting married in 41 days!

AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH

A post shared by Abigail (@abbii_patrick) on

Did you know that in 41 days I get to say I Do to the man I love? It’s getting to that “we’re really close and starting to panic” stage now, but mostly I’m so excited and just want to jump and shout.

2) Summer’s Coming

Our wedding is on the summer solstice. It was a happy accident, really; we wanted it on the last Saturday of June. But really it’s perfect because I’m a summer baby. Born in August and a Leo through and through, the summer months are my favourite time of year. It’s the time of year I get to be barefoot, wear floaty dresses, and de-layer. The sun touches everything and the world seems so much brighter and more manageable. I’ve just put my summer wardrobe in the wardrobe and it’s so bright and colourful. How lucky we are to live in a world with such light and beauty where flowers grace the ground.

3) This Blog

It sounds strange, but having somewhere to wallow and sadness and bask in happiness in a healthy way is really helping me to appreciate my life.

4) My friends

friends collage

Where would any of us be without the people we choose to share our milestones and our adventures with? My friends have been my pillars when I’ve needed support, my supportive ears through drunken rants, the people who challenged me when I needed it, and the people who celebrated with me. They are all angels.

5) My Sister

Gemma Collage

A big sister is the one who teaches you how to react to the world around you. She’s the first friend you play with and the first one you fight with. To me, she has been a mum, a sister, and a best friend. She’s the one person I can be silly with and the next moment emotional with. She’s a source of strength when all other wells run dry, and she spoils me rotten. Without her, I wouldn’t be who I am today. (So it’s all her fault, sorry guys!)

6) Vegetarianism

1479322_1560109344262049_9018745145116676392_n

It sounds like a strange reason to be happy, and I can already hear your groans, but hear me out. I used to have a very unhealthy relationship with food. Every bite would fill me with guilt, every meal I avoided would make me feel elated but ill. When I became a vegetarian, all that changed. I began to look forward to my meals and I got excited about food and being healthy. There’s something about not eating meat that just makes me happy. I’m not sorry.

7) My Fiancé

Daniel Collage

I know I’ve already mentioned the wedding, but I haven’t yet mentioned the man I’m marrying. I could gush for hours but I will try to narrow it down. This man has a nook that I fit perfectly into at bedtime, he calms my spirit when the anxiety hits, he knows when words are not enough, and he dreams with me. Our lives are intertwined in a way that could never truly be untangled, and he is my foundation in life. When all else fails, he will always make me smile.

8) Music

I’ve already posted about my Happy Sunshine Playlist, so it should come as no surprise that music makes this list. I wouldn’t say that it’s the most important thing in my life and I probably could live without music but it would be dull. Music brings us Eurovision, dancing, bonding, and a soundtrack to life. It’s great.

9) Puppies

aa3283859b28a7f057423342dbc80ac1

How can looking at this not fill your heart with joy????

10) Family

Family Collage

I have a large family with a lot of complicated branches, but they’re all so precious to me. It can be a nightmare at times like Christmas when you try to juggle such a big family that doesn’t always get on into just one day, but it’s always wonderful seeing them and I’m so fortunate to have so many people in my life that I can turn to.

11) Clothes

Celebrating clothes has helped me to celebrate my body. Through my fashion choices, I’ve developed my individual personality, style, and I’ve learnt to love myself. That’s gotta be a reason to be happy!

12) Nature

There is something about the feeling of grass between your toes, the colours and smell of wildflowers, and the feel of the breeze gracing through a willow tree that just makes me feel serene and at peace with the world.

13) The Fact I Have So Many Reasons

Just the fact that I have reasons to be happy makes me happy. None of them are temporary, none of them could be taken away and have my happiness taken away from. Being happy because I’m happy is a gift and of itself; it allows the happiness to escalate. Nothing produces happiness like more happiness.

Leave a Reply

